A Simple, Good Little Life

I read a great little article / blog post recently (and where I read it completely escapes me). It was an opinion piece, which stated that there is absolutely nothing wrong with wanting to live a rather small, insular, happy life. There is nothing wrong with having no grand aspirations. As long as you can take care of yourself and those you are responsible for, be kind to others and the world, be respectful of other lifestyles, and enact kindness and social justice in your own sphere, you don’t have to feel compelled to be something grandiose.

I strongly agreed with the writer of that piece (curses that I can’t remember who it was or where I read it!). The world is certainly better for having people with those kind of aspirations in it, and needs people like that to be at the forefront of the ongoing fight for social justice, respect toward all, etc. But no one person is compelled to be what they do not┬ápersonally feel drawn to be. As long as you’re not an asshole, you’re good.

Having recently gone through the passing of my 95-year old grandmother, I am at a point right now where I’m thinking a little more than usual about what I want my life to look like, in the far future, immediate future, and present.

I want change. I want some things about my current life to be different. Therefore, I’m making a commitment to myself, to stay vigilant for moments when those changes could take place, and to leap for them when they come.

A simple, good little life is my ultimate goal.

More to follow.

Leave a Reply

