Old-School YouTube

This is a list of old-school YouTube channels or videos that I can remember off the top of my head, in no more than the next 20 minutes:

  • Charlie the Unicorn
  • Smosh
  • Fred
  • Ask a Ninja
  • The evolution of dance
  • The Annoying Orange
  • Neil Cicierega
  • End of Ze World
  • Charlie bit my finger

… and waaaaaaaaay too many lyrics videos and AMVs. Or perhaps, just the right amount for my interests at the time. Perspective, man.

That list is way shorter than it should be, because I definitely spent a lot more time on the internet as a middle-schooler than such a short list would suggest.

This is a continuation of that list, based on some quick google searches to jog my memory:

  • Dramatic Chipmunk (and Dramatic Gopher)
  • Shoes
  • The Ultimate Showdown of Ultimate Destiny
  • Peanut Butter Jelly Time
  • The ┬áDuck Song
  • Sneezing baby panda
  • Numa Numa
  • mah spoon is too big
  • All Your Base Are Belong To Us
  • Badger Badger Badger
  • The Llama Song

I am DEVASTATED that I couldn’t remember Numa Numa by myself. The same goes for All Your Base Are Belong To Us. I have an excellent excuse for The Llama Song and Badger Badger Badger though: I first saw those on albinoblacksheep. They didn’t come to mind when I thought about YouTube.

Perhaps I’ll have something to actually say about my early internet experience later. For now, this has been a nice exercise in reminiscence.

More to follow.

 

Leave a Reply

